Iambic Pentameter Will Kill Me

by courtvanhaaren

wpid-IMAG0601.jpg

 

image

 

Seriously. See that nice picture of my work above? Yes, the scansion of my new sonnet. I seriously cannot get the hang of iambic pentameter down.

I don’t know why it’s bothering me. Is it because I didn’t have decent education in accents? If I learned accents at all, it was so long ago that I could not remember. It was never stressed beyond elementary school.

And it’s killing me now.

The main reason it’s killing me now is that I cannot discern what the meter in my sonnet. I can break it down between syllables (barely, since I apparently can’t tell the syllables apart in reality).  I don’t feel like I’m learning anything.

It’s getting better though. As noticed in the scansion above, I can somewhat get the hang of accents.

I’m irritated and rambling. I should really stop and continue.

Mergh.

