Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

by courtvanhaaren

COTAR

5 out of 5 stars

Maas is easily becoming my new favorite NA fantasy author, and A Court of Thorns and Roses would be the book to seal that title. I really thought I added this to my reading challenge list, but I guess I didn’t. BUT ANYWAYS

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a beautiful story with Beauty and the Beast parallels.

After her father landed their family in poverty, Feyre’s vow to her mother has her family’s survival on her shoulders. Most of this survival is based off hunting animals for food and trade.

In the midst of a hunt, Feyre kills a wolf who posed very little threat to her. For this, a faerie locates her and demands her life for the life taken- as was agreed upon in the Treaty between the faeries and humans after the war. Leaving her family behind, Feyre unhappily leaves to live the rest of her life on the faerie’s estate.

While living with Tamlin and his brash friend, Lucien, Feyre slowly learns of the Blight- a terrible sickness affecting the faeries, one that could soon come after the humans. Feyre desperately searches for answers, and finds that the truths tests her affection and dedication for Tamlin and the world she unwillingly left behind.

I don’t think I actually did reviews for the Throne of Glass series, but that series is the reason I know of Maas and why I was willing to pick up this novel. In my opinion, A Court of Thorns and Roses completely blows Throne of Glass out of the water with a compelling story line and remarkable characters.

I think it’s really hard with stories like this to make romance convincing without running into the thought of Stockholm Syndrome, but this novel definitely veers away from that possibility and develops a very tangible, gorgeous romance. The first half of the novel is actually spent more or less on developing this romance. It paces well and is intriguing, which is a major plus for the story.

The second half of the novel is focused on the source of the Blight and how to overcome it. This part of the novel is extremely interesting; the plot flows and it highlights the strongest- and weakest- features of the characters.

One thing that particularly struck a chord with me is Maas’ decision to make Feyre uneducated. That is not a feature that is normally seen in YA and NA, mainly because of the hindrance to the character. It does provide hindrance to Feyre, which aids in humanizing her as a heroine while also highlighting her persistence and courage.

The only true complaint I have is a small one- the source of the Blight. I personally think the conflict of the source could have carried on farther into the series, but Maas seems to be hinting at a larger threat, so I will reserve that judgment.

Otherwise A Court of Thorns and Roses is a really gorgeous fantasy novel that I will probably be talking about to my friends for the next few months. It is a new favorite, one that I don’t really have the words to do just for. I can’t believe that it just came out and I have to wait all this time for the next book. The ending leaves plenty of room open for character development and a revolution of sorts.

If you have any inclination to do so, I would highly recommend picking up this novel, along with the rest of her works. (Throne of Glass is a great series!)

