Exciting Things!

by courtvanhaaren

I’ve had some pretty stressful days the last two months, but it is SO worth it. I’m here to share with you all on the anniversary of my blog!

First, I didn’t really post any new original work because for the last month-and-a-half I’ve been working on submitting to Warner Bros for their Writer’s Workshop. It was extremely stressful, but I enjoyed writing the scripts and I really hope that I have a good chance at gaining a spot on the workshop. I submitted two scripts: first, a Bob’s Burger’s script; and second, an Empire script. I received a lot of positive feedback for the Bob’s Burgers script, which was good because it was so easy to write. My main focus (and source of stress) was the Empire script. It went through a lot of revision and plot changes before it got to where it is now, and I LOVE the script. I’m really proud of what I accomplished with these two pieces. Even if I don’t gain a spot this year, the experience helped me grow as a writer even more and really get in the mind of characters I love. It was great and if I don’t get in this year I will probably submit next year. (Along to other programs, we shall see!)

A line from the Empire script that didn’t make the cut:

You can be loyal to both your ambition and your man, but be careful what you choose if you have to pick one over the other. A man is always loyal to his ambition, and his alone.

Now, onto my own personal projects!

I’m starting a comic collaboration with an artist I met through social media ages ago. I AM SO EXCITED FOR THIS. I’m hoping to flesh out the entire plot within this next month or so, which hopefully means we can start sharing character bios by the middle/end of summer. So, if you’re interested, keep an eye out for anything related to Ascent of Chaos. 

Finally, I will be working on and releasing a short story by the end of summer called Come Nightfall. It’s a step out of my usual fantasy genre and goes into paranormal/horror. Another thing to look for if you’re interested.

I’m really hoping to work more on my book reviews and the book challenge for this year. Reading was something I committed to and I really want to push through that commitment. We shall see!

I guess that’s it?

Sure.

Later!

-Court

